|This game is terrible. When me and my siblings played it as kids we had to get a 1,2,or sorry card to get out of start. Now it's almost every card that lets you out. And when we read the instructions on the power ups we were completely lost. I have no idea what was going on in the heads of the makers when they made that instruction manual. Sorry fire and ice SUCKS!!!!|
|In the instructions it says ANY POSITIVE number will get a pawn out of start..... Every number is positive? There are no negative card numbers?|
|Think translation is the problem here....the game being made in China means the rules were written most likely by someone whose the rules were written by someone whose command of English is lacking....not their fault but the fault of the makers who get the product made overseas. I didn't know what a positive no was, unclear re slides as does it refer to the colour in the centre of the dot or the slides at the two edges of your colour square, plus it doesn't really say anything about the fire and ice. Glad I didn't buy it for a gift.|
|I've read the directions about Fire & Ice but it never tells you how you get the token to begin with!|
|HOW DO YOU GET A FIRE OR ICE TOkEN IN THE FIRST PLACE!!! I'm taking this game back to the store. I played this as a kid and now it's just a huge disappointment.|
|We play the game by having a hand of 4 cards, and have an option of playing any card you want. Much more fun then just drawing a card off the top of the deck. |
|I see nowhere in the instructions or on this message board whether fire can be played on a pawn with ice on it or if ice can be played on a pawn with fire on it. Any help on this would be welcome!|
|It's been so long since I played. If you trade places and end up on the beginning of a slide can you slide if it's not your color?|
|do u have to go around if u get a 1 or 2 and thn a 4?
|loved this game really easy and it is fun to play at parties.|
|what about the fire and ice power-ups?
|What do the blank cards supposed to represent in the regular version? My daughter was given this game for Christmas, and it came with 4 blank cards.|
|The new fire and ice sorry sucks! The instructions don't explain how to get the New power ups or why the fire symbols mean on the board. I hate it. I also feel tricked by hasbrointo buying the new edition. I thought it was the same as original with something extra, but it's not they completely changes the game abd not for the better.|
|In the regular sorry game if someone has two pawns on one space can you send them both home if you land on it or do you go thou it,an is 2 pawns aloud on one space?|
|If in the safe zone with Fire and you have a seven card, can you split and move fire pawn to home and bring in another pawn to home . . . even though you didn't complete the split? Hasbro needs a QA department and technical writer and have games vetted / beta tested before release to the public - the CEO should get removed without any golden parachute for this blunder of a game!|
|Josh, you are wrong about Ice - power up. Immunity is not an advantage if you cannot move your pawn with Ice to home if once you move your pawn with fire into home - cannot bring that "iced" pawn to home with you. The Ice is to be placed on an opponent's pawn to freeze it in place and cannot be moved until the opponent draws a one (1) card - once a pawn is iced this gives others opportunity to easily win game.|
|Where is ice on board, I.e. What do you land on to get ice? I see clearly how to get fire but what about ice?|
|Can you have two or more (3) pawn on the same spot in the safety zone?|
|1St u cannot have possesion of both Fire and Ice Power-ups at the same time.
2Nd Power-ups can be TAKEN from pawns in the safety zone. However: u cannot place power-ups on pawns in the safety zone.
3Rd Moves with the fire token do not bump UNLESS u occupy the Fire Space that the Fire toke lands on
4Th If u are frozen by the Ice Token u cannot be moved by Any Action. You also cannot freeze the same pawn twice in a row|
|Someone said in an earlier post that some of these answers can be found by reading your instructions. Lol!!! Not if your game came with the instructions in Spanish instead of English.|
|Can ice be placed on top of fire?|
|I was very confused with the new fire and ice version. I think I understand after reading this.. but now I am confused anout the having to go back around the biard if you don't have the cirrect number to get in the safety zone.|
|Ok I have a question me an my wife has gotten into a situation about the fire and ice . If I have the fire and she has no peaces for it to go can she take and put it in the middle in the rules it states that about the ice but nothing about fire.|
|What is a positive number in sorry the game|
|ok so there has been some confusion on the FIRE and ICE tokens. the ICE token is meant to be used as an advantage for your own tokens, play as normal with it, its power comes in the form of immunity, meaning that that no one can bump you back to start if landing on your space on the board! or trade spots with you when the trade cards are drawn! its simply an immunity for your own good, (IT DOES NOT FREEZE A PAWN IN PLACE). The fire token is also for your advantage, being able to move it large leaps to each fire space on the corners of the board, also, if your pawn has the fire token on it as you enter into home, it allows you to automatically bring one of your other pawns to home with it. (ONLY ONE! ONE TIME!) regardless of how long the fire token stays on the pawn while in home.|
|I've been playing Sorry since I was a kid, and now we play it with our grandsons. I bought a new Sorry game so we could take one to our cottage, and I was disappointed to find that you ruined it! You know the old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it?" Fire? Ice? Three pawns instead of four? Get out of Start on any "positive" number? Move four spaces on a "Sorry" card? Seriously? WHY?|
|in the game sorry if you have gone around the board once and its your turn and you cant enter the saftey zone do you have to go around the board again?|
|brand new edition has two mini circles that fit over the pieces: a fire (red/yellow) and an ice (blue) ... can you explain the way these are used? Instructions are really confusing.|
|A lot of my questions were answered.. All but this one..
On one particular card it says: Move forward TEN or backwards ONE.
in what situation would you ever want to move backwards ONE? you wouldn't right?|
|If you can't use a Sorry! card, can you save it for another turn? That is what Wiki says. Never heard that before though.|
|If you draw a 2 and move your last player from start and then draw a sorry card can you take back the piece you moved from start so you can use the sorry card?|
|Most of these questions can be answered by thoroughly reading the instructions that came with it.
The only one I think isn't answered is what happens if you have the fire and someone gets a one: can they make you take the ice and lose the fire. We play as if no: fire is safe until a two is drawn and the fire is moved.
I do think it's confusing though, to move out of start on a "positive number". We decided that means any card except the four, which moves you backwards, ie Not a "positive" number. I did prefer moving out on a one or a two only...|
|***FIRE AND ICE IS AN AWESOME VERSION OF SORRY***
(1). Start by moving from start on any even number card, do not go that number until your next turn JUST COME OUT OF START!!
(2). Freeze any opponents pawn on the board (not in home or safety) with "ICE"--- this pawn can not be moved, bumped back to home by opponent or SORRY card, they can only be unfrozen with card that instructs you to move ice, then you can place it on another opponents pawn, if no other opponent is available the place "ICE" back to middle of board.
(3). "FIRE" is similar to ice and safe from being crowned with "ICE" as long as it has "FIRE"......That pawn can be bumped back to home giving the opponent a chance to claim "FIRE" or you can obtain "FIRE" with the fire card or landing on the for space on the board!! ---> NOTE: When its your turn and your pawn has "FIRE" ----BEFORE YOU PULL A CARD, MOVE "FIRE PAWN" to next fire space on BOARD, THEN PULL A CARD AND TAKE YOUR TURN. You can also give "FIRE " to an opponent but it may give them an advantage over you!!!
(4). "FIRE" or "ICE" CANNOT BE PLACED ON ANY PAWN IN SAFETY OR HOME but you can take "FIRE" from an opponent whether in safety or home, you can also choose to give it to an opponent if you are the one in possession of "FIRE"!!
(5). You can only "SLIDE" if your count ends on arrow and it has your color on that particular slide!
(6). SEVEN (7) is the ONLY card/number that can be used for split moves between only two pawns if you choose to. split!
**I truly hope that my instructions can give you better insight on this version of sorry and hope you have as much as me and my family do!! ENJOY!! :-)
|The instructions for the fire and ice are so confusing. we play the as if its not there. maybe some day i will try to figure it out. otherwise it is a very fun game.|
|Yes, you can move backwards with your 4 card; you just can not go backward into your safe zone. on your next turn you can enter your safe zone provided you have the exact number. rules state you have tohave the exact number to enter Home. yes, you can pass your own piece in the safty zone provided you have the exact number of spaces; no, you can not occupy the same space. if at any time you can not move the instructed amount of spaces for the card you forfiet your turn by default. the only question I can not answer is the one about the placing ice on fire; it was not touched on by the rules in the game. the rest requires some common sense. take deep breaths and reread the instructions if you have to. Have fun! I love the game minues the fire/ice question.|
|I love the original sorry game . But this one
is just as good . Only one problem. The rules are
hard to understand. Other than that the game
is perfect. Well almost perfect.
|can u put ice on fire
|We absolutely infuriated with the new Fire & Ice version. Hasbro ruined family game night with the most confusing adaptation of a game ever! Not to mention the fact that we only ended up with this version because hasbro so poorly labeled the game with a small bubble on the front that we could barely tell made it a different version. The rules are the most confusing and unclear rules for a mainstream game. And removing the "leave start with a 1 or 2" rule and allowing a player to leave start on any positive card? What does that even mean? The arguments that it spurred based on unclear directions were enough to cause one of my children to cry, and another to be sent to their room for swearing. I quote her, using asterisks on the sensitive word, "This game is bullshi*!" Hasbro, Sorry was never broke. What made you think this was a fix? I just don't understand why you wasted the time and energy with this version. We want our money back, and you can have the game. It's no wonder the game was on clearance for $5.88 at WalMart. |
|I don't understand how we get the fire and ice pawn? Can somebody help me|
|Can you move backwards 4 if you are on the move from start space|
|Can you take the fire token from a player in the safety zone? Heated arguments abound. Please advise.|
|Can you jump your own pawn?|
|having real issues with fire and ice still can't figure out what or when we use them |
|alot of questions with no answers whats up with this my day n time we had 4 pegs n cant figure out the fire n ice|
|For those that have played the Fire & Ice version. If someone has the fire ring on and you draw the card for Ice - can you remove the fire from that player and change it to ice? Or are they "safe" because they already have a power up on? Heated argument with an 11 year old about this last night. LOL|
|I just bought the newest version of the sorry game and it only has 3 markers and the rules don't mention how to get the markers on the board from Start. Do the same rules apply - can only come in on 1's or 2's?|
|So you get an 11 and the player you are trading with winds up at the top of a slide - do they slide? All the rules only address when you land there, not when an opponent gets placed there.|
|I love it|
|Has anyone got a copy of the original WADDINGTON rules which I swear are different from the HASBRO ones?|
|Your card says 12 and your coming down towards your slide, in order to slide do you have to stop slide and then contiue counting?|
|If someone has a two and goes into their winning circle but on two's you have to draw again, and they pull a move backwards four... Would they have to move backwards four? |
|If your opponent gets an 11 and switches with you and you then slide down but you have a guy there so when u slide you knock yourself off is that legal|
|My game to only came with Spanish instructions.
If you just entered the safe zone and the next card you draw is a 4 back do you have to move 4 back. Please help on this|
|Can you move backwards 4 if you are on the move from start space |
|Look under the box insert inside the game, that's where I found English instructions. |
|Do you go back to start if your turn lands you on a spot with one of your own pawns?|
|Do you go back to start if your turn lands you on a spot with one of your own pawns?|
|About the 2 card. If you use it to get out of home do you move your pawn one space to the first space outside of home or do you move it out and then move pawn to the second space outside of home |
|What does the diamond space between the safety zone and the start MEAN?|
|OK, most people want to know the rule on having to pass your safety zone or not if you draw too high a number to enter it or go home. Simply put, there is NO clear rule on this in the modern game. In the original game, there was a diamond on the space just after the space in front of your safety zone and of that color. The rule then stated that no pawn of that color (your color for your zone) could pass over that diamond (which by definition includes occupying that space.) SO that space was essentially a dead space. This would have precluded moving past the safety zone, AND moving backwards from start to avoid having to go around the board. That diamond AND that rule have been removed, SO based on the current rules, if you can go backwards to get to your safety zone, you also MUST pass it up if you have to. The makers of the game would need to add a rule that you cannot pass up your safetly zone, and that your path must follow the arrow which on modern games flows into your safety zone. Otherwise, if we play strictly by the modern rules, you do NOT forfeit your turn simply because you draw a number greater than your home square distance. You are stuck moving around the board again.|
|The arrow after the slides that are right by the "start" spaces.....when u slide on an opponents do u go to the space with that arrow or stay on the circle. What is the purpose of that arrow?!?!?|
|Our game came ONLY with Spanish instructions also - GO FIGURE?????!!!!!!!|
|i have a 11 and i am almost too the safe zone and i only have 1 pawn out what do i do since i have to big of a number to go to home and not small enough to be in safe zone do i have to go all around the board or does my turn get skipped
|How many 12's are there supposed to be in the deck??? I only have 3.|
|I think this game is really fun. You should play with 3 or 4 players to make it more fun :D|
|I have a mix of 2 sets of sorry game cards, and need to know how many 1s, 2s, 3s, etc. there are in one game!|
The rules say you can indeed use the backwards 4 in order to avert going all the way around the board. My kids got me on this one.
|The rules say if I can move I must move (even if it is at my disadvantage), all pawns move into Home only an exact count, two pawns of the same color may never occupy the same space (apparently also even in the SAFE ZONE). Lets say I am on the space just before going into the Safe Zone, I draw 5 and if move 5 would share that space with another of my pawns, I guess I have to use the 5 and instead go around the board again?|
|If you have gotten out by drawing a number 1 or 2 and your next card is a 4 to move backwards can you move backwards and then next card proceed into the safety zone. I know not backwards into the safety zone but backwards that puts you closer to the safety zone, instead of having to go all the way around the board.|
|You know I'd like to answer some questions or ask some but OUR game ONLY came with Spanish instructions!!!!!!!!!!!|
|if you are in safe zone and draw a 4 do u move backward out of safe zone or are you safe and do not have to move.|
|Do you slide backwards when you get a card saying go back 4 ? Or just count each square in the slide area?|
|So what happens if:
1. All 3 pawns are in my Home
2. I need a Draw 2 and i draw it and move my pawn into Home
3. BUT for a Draw 2, I drew another card and it was a Move Back 4
4. Do I win? or do I have to move a pawn out of my Home, back 4??????
My extremely competitive friend wants to know!!|
|If I draw a 7 and I'm 2 squares away from a slide and my opponent is 1 square past the slide can I move 2 then slide move 1 and knock out my opponent then finish my next 4 moves with another piece?
|We need clarification on this:
"If you draw a card that makes you move more than two spaces beyond your own Start space, on your next turn you may move into your own Safety Zone without moving all the way around the board."
Also - the original game says it's ok for players 6+ - this website says 10+. We play with our 6 year old and he does great!!|
|Ok, I have the same question as Kathy from 12-28-09. I've played this game many times as a kid but now playing as a mom with my family--my husband thinks we have to keep going around and around if we don't have the "right" number to either get to safty or to home. The rules state if there are "no possible moves" that you "forfeit your turn" and that is where my husband says well " there is a possible move"
when reading the object it does say when one player gets all four pawns into home from start but it doesn't say this has to be done in one round!!!!! someone HELP!!!!!!|
|If behind home and you get go 12 card do you go back around board again or do you stay there because you don't have the exact number to go home?|
|An oldie but a goodie!|
|that is so cool dude |
|Can you pass in the safety zone?|
|Can you use a 4 to go backward past start and go into safety zone?|
|I noticed with the newer version of the game Sorry that it does NOT have the "triangle" NOR the rule that goes with it. Does anyone know why?
(ex: with a "10" card you have the option of going forward 10 spaces or back 1. It was a benefit of having that "triangle" because it stopped you from going around the whole board.|
|does anyone know if you go around the board and you cant go into the safezone do you sit till you get the right number or do you have to go back around?|
|I really like this game it is very fun for math we have to make a board |
|My son and I have modified the rules and it makes for a much closer game:|
1) We've taken the 3 ad cards and created two 6/9 cards (can be a 6 or a 9) and a wild card (can be any standard card except Sorry!)
2) If you are in front of your safety zone and draw a large card and have no other moves, you have to go around.
3) If you draw the same valued card on successive turns the second one becomes a negative move.
4) Marked one of each single function forward cards (3,5,8,12) with an "R" which gives the option to move an opponent's piece backwards that number of places.
5) For a faster game: always slide when you hit an arrow then keep counting. Wipe out all pieces on the slide including your own.
|This is the best game I've ever played in my whole life!! LOVE IT|