Rummikub Game

How To Play Rummikub

Rummikub Game Rules (PDF Instructions)

2 - 4
Play Time
45 MIN
Rummikub is a great game for both adults and children alike. Join in the fast paced fun while trying to combine your tiles in runs or sets. Rummikkub, similar to the card game, gets everyone involved.

Rummikub game play moves along thanks to the joker tiles (wilds) and helps players out when they don't quite have the tile they need. Learning how to play Rummikub dose not take a lot of time. Bring out the fun and start playing Rummikub today!
The game Rummikub should come with the following components. These are based off of the original game and don't include components from any expansion packs or different editions.

  • Inside Your Rummikub Box You'll Find 106 Tiles (2 Sets Of Tiles Numbered 1 To 13 In Four Colors: Black
  • Red
  • Blue
  • Orange; 2 Jokers); 4 Playing Racks
  • Official Rummikub Game Rules And Instructions
How to Win
Be the first player to get rid of all the tiles in your rack by forming sets and runs. The player who reaches the preset number of points will win the game.
How to Win
Please keep in mind that the official Rummikub rules and instructions could be different depending on the game version you have. The rules below are some of the exact directions that came in the original packaging and will teach you how to play Rummikub. Download these original PDF game rules or print them for later use.

Share with us your comments, funny stories, tips, advice, strategies, creative ways to play, questions about how to play, problems with the directions or anything you want about Rummikub. All submissions will be reviewed within 24 hours.



Human Question:
Which game starts with the same letter as Mancala: Chess, Uno, Monopoly, Battleship or Rummycube

Koba says:

Can i determine a colour of the joker as the 3rd one in a series of 3 equal numbers..?
John says:

Just reading through the comments. It seems that there is a load of confusion over how to play and, later, use the joker. I play quite regularly with different groups of people and each has their own variant as to how the joker 'MUST' be used! I always refer to the, very limited, wording in the rules pamphlet. If the joker is used for the initial meld, it's colour and value are determined by what else is played - ie 3 x 10s, the joker has a value of 10 but the colour is one of those not played - it can later be replaced by a number 10 of the colour not played. If the joker is in a run of, eg, reds - 7,8,9,J,11,12 it needs to be replaced by a red 10 in this instance Here is where the fun begins. There is a school that says the joker was in place of a red 10 so therefore it can only be used in another set to represent a red 10 - either a group of 10s or red 9, J, 11 - it now stays as a red 10 for the rest of the game! Whereas, the rules here seem clear enough, the joker can now represent any tile you wish, so I may play a black 8, the Joker and find an available black 9 off the table. I could form J,8,9 OR 8,9,J depending how I am feeling (I might have a black 5 which I hope I can drop if someone drops a black 6 or I pick one up soon)
KSC says:

Can a player hold runs in his or her rack and pick a tile?
Mary Kling says:

How do you find out the answer that was given to the question below. I have some of the same questions! Not terribly I Pad savvy, so please be VERY specific. Thx!
Cheryl W says:

Can a person move around tiles on board to make different runs or sets but in this turn not use any of his tiles. Letting that be his turn. Or do you have to use at least 1 tile from your hand when making moves that will benefit you either in that turn or next turn. In other words when moving tiles on board you can only move them when they benefit you by using a tile from your hand. You cannot move tiles on board during your turn without using a tile from you own?
Glenda says:

When you replace a joker do you have to have 2 on you rack to be able to reuse the joker
EDDIE says:

Question: there was a set of 8s and a Joker, and a Blue 4, 5, 6, 7 and a Joker run on the board. I replaced the Joker with the required color of 8 and then removed the 7 & Joker and placed it with my Blue 9. It formed a Blue 7, 8 (Joker) and 9. Some of the players say the Joker may only be removed with a Blue 8 and it must come from my hand. I am of the belief that it was not "trapped" and could be used anywhere. Is a replaced Joker to always come from your hand or may I manipulate it into another run or group, provided I play "A" tile from my hand? We are gearing up for a simplified tournament (some rules had to be axed due to the memory of some of our Seniors). It is for fun.
Ann says:

What to do if one player does not have 30 points to start playing and all tiles are in use. Would seem he cannot join in play at all.
Linda says:

Can I use a joker on an existing run or set without adding a tile from my hand? If not, how many tiles must I use from my hand?
Frances Ellinwo says:

If a "red" joker (13), with black and blue 13s are down in a set, can another player "go out" by discarding his/her black 13 or must it be orange?
doug says:

what does the joker count when using a a meld card ie its penalty value or the value of the tile eg nine
Sandy says:

Must you always replace a Joker to use it in a new group, or can you remove it using its current color and number value in a new group as long as it is not needed in the group from which it is removed? Example: if its current function is "red 6" and a red 6 is needed in a new group, could you use the Joker as if it were actually a red 6?
Bob Nice says says:

I have a run of four tens the black ten is the joker can I pick up the black ten which is the joker and use it to make a run of 8,9,10 12/12/17
Caryl says:

If I have earlier melded, and later pick up a joker, can I use that joker with just one other tile from my hand to extend a run already on the table?
Holly says:

When initially laying down the tiles to make the required 30 points one player used a wild tile in her run and added in the number that the joker represented so it would add up to 30. Is this permitted?
Anna says:

At the start of the game, you have to get 30 to start, would it be okay to put down for example, two black 11 and a red 11? Or do they all have to be different colours? Please answer, in the middle of an argument with someone about this!!!
Linda says:

When playing,is it ok to break up a run of 3 consecutive numbers and add each to sets of the same number so that you can win even if you take no number from your hand?
Ann says:

If there is a red run on the table of 5-6-7 and I have a joker and a red nine in my hand, can I add the joker as a red 8 or do I have to use 2 tiles from my hand when I play the joker? Such that in the the example, that would mean I would add the joker as a red 8 and add a red 9 AND a red 10 from my hand.
Nicole says:

You have a black 9 on your rack. In your play you have a black run 10 11 12 13. You also have a 3 of the 13 tiles (orange blue and red). To play your 9 can you pick up the black 13 and play that tile on the 3 13's already on the table be play your 9 In front of the 10. Is this a legal move.?
Dave A says:

Can a joke be played on the board as a 9 red if there are two 9 reds all ready in play on the board Creating a 3rd red 9 on the board
carol says:

how do you play the joker if I have--3-5s and one is the joker can I take the joker but have to replace with a 5 and in a run 1234567 and 4 is the joker can I split the run and take the (joker)=4 to use in my hand with my own 2 tiles
Krys says:

Do you have instructions for Word Rummikub
Dianne says:

if there is a group of 4 on the table, can I add to that group, even though it means there will now be two of the same color ? ie, is a group limited to maximum of 4?
Gramz says:

what count does the joker have if played in the first play? Such as, to get your 30 count lay down?
Mildred says:

Why we can't used th joker as any numbers or color instead to have to chip's in the hands,when I have only one chip in my last hand?
Mary Moss says:

Assume I draw a Joker tile. On my next turn, can I play that Joker anywhere on the I still have to play it with 2 other tiles from my hand?
marta c says:

If I have the Joker and another tile left in the game, can I put that joker down on a set that is already on the table?
d smith says:

can the joker (smiley face) in a set of three be moved if the other 2 cards can be moved? EXAMPLE; 7of Black 7 of red,joker Move 7 of black to 8,9,10,of black,move 7 of red to 8,9,10of red and the joker to 8,9,10 of blue?
carol says:

are u able to hold all ur tiles as long as you want before you put any down
diane says:

How do I press enter to submit my tiles. My time always runs out so I really can't play because I haven't figured out the most important part of the game!!! Please help!
Vi says:

Have been playing Rummikub with players who insist on arranging everyone's tiles in order on the table, with runs in color order and like numbers in order, i.e. 1's, 2's, etc. It does not seem appropriate for someone to control placement on the table.
Here are some other games you might like to read through the game rules. Browse these games and see if you can find a new favorite game to play at your next game night. You can also use our search feature at the top of the page to search for a specific criteria that might interest you.

©2023 Board Game Capital - About Us